Andrew Taylor knows Charlotte

Updated: Mar 28, 2019



Where are you from?

I am a fourth generation Charlottean. My Great-grandfather was born in Charlotte in 1876; I was born 100 years later in 1976.

What is your occupation?

I am a location scout/location manager for television and film.

What is unique about your occupation? How did you get into your line of work?

I have a rather unique occupation now. It involves reading the scripts for TV and Film and then trying to find the locations they need. Locations can be anything from a hospital room to a cemetery. I got into this industry completely by accident. When I graduated from Appalachian State, I went to work as an associate producer at WBTV news. When my position didn't progress into a full-time career, I left to work as the public relations and marketing coordinator for an event planning company. After two years, I changed careers again and was the assistant general manager for a nightclub in downtown Charlotte. When the hours became too strenuous, I decided to pursue a career in film and television as a production assistant. At the age of 32, I again found myself starting over. Eight years later, I have worked my way into the position I have now as location scout/location manager.

What challenges you in your life, work, etc?

Because of the type of work I do, it's difficult to know when I will be working. There are long periods of hiatus when there is not any work and when work does come, (usually) it's at the last minute and I have to be available to scout the next day. It can be difficult to get into a routine when things are constantly up in the air and changing. But the work is extremely fun and challenging. Being able to read a script for a movie and picture what the writers and directors have in mind can be stressful, but in the end, I get to point to the TV or movie screen and say, "I found that house" or "that warehouse was my location". You would never imagine the amount of work that goes into finding a location for filming weeks or months before the film crew steps foot on the set.

What is your education or training background?

I have B.S. in Communication from Appalachian State.

What are your hobbies? Are your hobbies a side business?

For the last 15 years, I have been working on a photography project called “The Charlotte Landmark Series”. Over that time, I've photographed nearly 60 local



landmarks. I've written a coffee table book that I'm trying to get published about the “Charlotte Landmark Series”. The photographs are for sale in any size- framed or unframed- on my website www.tayloredprints.com.

Where do you currently reside?

I live in the same neighborhood I grew up in, Cotswold (Charlotte). My family inherited my grandparents house four years ago, and I currently live there with my wife and two children.

Family stats:

I am married to Allison Wagner Taylor, a 3rd generation Charlottean. I have two children William (2.5), Olivia (5 months).


What are you passionate about? What inspires you?

I love music and collecting vinyl. I used to play harmonica in a local blues band called The Fullgrown Band. What now inspires me are my kids; because of my career, I get to spend lots of time with them. I enjoy watching them grow up and discovering the world. They make me laugh every single day. When my son was born, I did a photography project with him. I took a photograph of him every day for a year. With my daughter, I decided to do a Sunday portrait with her for five years. That way each child will have their own special project from me when they become adults.

What do you love about the Carolinas?

I think the weather and the diversity of landscape are the greatest things about the Carolinas. We have the mountains, the beach, the piedmont, as well as waterfalls, lakes, and oceans. Plus, we have all four seasons here. We have big cities and small towns. The Carolinas are just the ideal place to live and raise your family.

What was your upbringing like?

I grew up in East Charlotte, in the Cotswold neighborhood. My parents still live in the same house. I played little league for Myers Park, soccer, church basketball, and I was a swimmer with MAC until I was 18. In the 80’s, our neighborhood was filled with lots of kids. We rode skateboards and BMX bikes and played tackle football in the Granger's backyard. At night in the summertime, we played flashlight tag or German's in the dark. I attended Randolph Middle School and then graduated from West Charlotte High School. I attended Montreat College my freshman year on a full baseball scholarship, before transferring to Appalachian State my sophomore year. I graduated from ASU with a degree in PR and Marketing.



Where do you vacation?

We love the Boone, Blowing Rock, Valle Crucis area. In the summer, we usually spend a week in the Charleston area.

What are your proudest accomplishments?

My kids will always take precedent over any physical accomplishment or career accomplishment. However, playing college baseball is always something I will be most proud of. My baseball career was short- I wish I could have gone on further to play professionally, but I wouldn't have met my wife. Also, completing the “Charlotte Landmark Series” and finishing the corresponding coffee table book are two things I am very proud of.

Favorite spot in the Carolinas to visit?

There are so many wonderful places in the Carolinas, but one of my absolute favorite places is Edisto Island.

What events in your life or family's life have impacted you?

My daughter recently had major surgery to remove two-thirds of her right lung. The way my family and friends surrounded us and came together to support us was incredible. Olivia has since made a full recovery and she's doing great.

Indulgences?

I have a rather large record collection- it can be tough for me to pass by Lunchbox Records or Repo Records without stopping in and buying a new record or old classic. For a long time, I focused on classic rock (Grateful Dead, Hendrix, Rolling Stones, Beatles), but over the last year, I've been really interested in the Jazz standards (Thelonious Monk, Coltrane, Blakey, Davis, Adderly).



If money wasn't an issue, what would you do with your time each day?

One of the first things I would like to do is renovate my grandparents house. The other thing I would love to do is focus on a script I've been writing and rewriting in my head for the last five years. With a two year old and five month old (who just finished with surgery), I haven't had time to sit down and give the script the full attention it takes to complete. If money wasn't an issue, those two things would be wonderful.

#Charlotte #Photography #Scout #TVFilm #Dad

  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Contact us
Be featured or nominate someone!
IMG_8988.JPG
@PeopleofCLT
#peopleofCLT
top20questions-sq.png

Copyright © 2016-2020 People of Charlotte CLT. The content on these pages, including text and images, are the sole property of the authors, contributors, and photographers; content may not be used or reproduced in any manner without consent. All Rights Reserved.

  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon