Jeff Brokaw starts up conversations about startups

Updated: Mar 27, 2019



What's your moving to the Carolinas story?

I was born in Hawthorne, NJ, but moved to Charlotte when I was three - so I consider myself a Charlotte native. We now live in Weddington, NC, which is right outside of Charlotte.

How was your educational path different than most?

I didn’t have a traditional/formal education: I was homeschooled until the sixth grade, then went to private schools from sixth through ninth grade. In ninth grade, I finally ended up dropping out of school to focus fulltime on coding and work. I have always been curious about technology, the internet, coding...so I taught myself what I wanted to learn.

You have how many jobs?

I consider myself a serial entrepreneur. I co-own a marketing and web design firm, QC Marketing, and also co-own a print and graphic design firm, Rock-a-Print. I am also a tech investor and on the board of various start-up companies. I have a few new ventures in the works for 2017 that will be announced in the following weeks.

What do you love about not being defined by one role while working for yourself?

No two days are the same - as I am always on the run. I don’t have a boss and if I did, I would be fired in a matter of minutes!

What is your dream career?

Exactly what I am doing :)

What motivates you everyday?

Helping the Charlotte entrepreneur scene grow. And never stepping foot inside a cubicle.

What is one way you feel rewarded in what you do?

Seeing businesses in the Carolinas grow, especially in the tech space.

How do you plan for vacations?

I don’t like seeing the same place twice - most the time - so I enjoy vacationing in locations I have never visited. And I usually plan trips spur of the moment!

What struggles have you faced as an entrepreneur?

Foreclosures, being broke, not knowing what bills I will be able to pay (if any)...all have been part of the entrepreneurial journey.

Ever think about retirement?

I never see myself retiring! I would be bored to death not working.

Favorite spot in the Carolinas to visit?

Charleston, where I got married.

What is something people would be surprised to learn about you?

The last time I stepped foot inside a classroom was my ninth grade year - which I did not finish.

If money wasn’t an issue, what would you do with your time each day?

Work ;)

What makes you so recognizable in the business world?

My beard!

What’s your family like?

Wife Liz, Daughter Zoe (13), Son Zack (12), and Rozko the English Bulldog (4).


Where can we read more about your journey?

The Charlotte Observer recently featured me here.

Where can we keep up with you?

Twitter

LinkedIn

QC Marketing

Rock-a-Print


  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Contact us
Be featured or nominate someone!
IMG_8988.JPG
@PeopleofCLT
#peopleofCLT
top20questions-sq.png

Copyright © 2016-2020 People of Charlotte CLT. The content on these pages, including text and images, are the sole property of the authors, contributors, and photographers; content may not be used or reproduced in any manner without consent. All Rights Reserved.

  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon