top of page

Melissa Baker connects you to your image

Updated: Jan 30, 2019

Where are you from?

Loxahatchee, Florida :)

What brought you to the Carolinas?

I moved here after 32 years in Los Angeles, CA, and after having a successful corporate career for beauty companies. After hitting a milestone in my career and a birthday at the same time, along with family members in Charlotte needing me, I decided to take a leap of faith - I have lived here for a year and a half now.

What is your education or training background?

AA in Fashion Merchandising at FIDM.

What is your occupation?

I teach others how important image is to their career successes through Image Connection Group.

What is unique about your occupation?

Few people understand it; few people do it as a business.

How did you get into your line of work?

I took what I learned and accomplished in my corporate career, saw what was missing, and then started my own business.

What challenges you in life, work, etc?

I'm challenged by beating my own personal best! Or when people or our society labels me something or puts me in a box, then I set out to prove them wrong.

What are your hobbies?

Shazaming music to create interesting playlists; reading magazines and books that enlighten or are about style and beauty. I've turned my early hobby as a young girl of style and beauty into a business!

What is something interesting from your childhood?

I grew up on a farm raising prize winning animals.

Where do you currently reside?

I live in Charlotte: specifically Ballantyne, a South Charlotte suburb.

Family stats?


What are you passionate about?

I love to show women how to look great and therefore feel their best and be their best.

What motivates or inspires you?

Beauty around me in people, places and things.

What causes are you involved with?

The Grooming Greatness Foundation and Alzheimers Foundation.

What do you love about the Carolinas?

The people and the landscape.

Where do you vacation?

Anywhere in the US and Canada that is spa worthy; also Mexico and Paris.

What are your proudest accomplishments?

I have good reputation for integrity, contribution, execution, style, and beauty in my career.

What outdoor activities do you participate in and where?

Being new to the area, I'm looking for new activities in Charlotte!

Where do you see yourself retiring?

Somewhere with a grand beach house!

Favorite spot in the Carolinas?

I don't have one yet, but I hear Asheville is really nice this time of year.

What events in your life or family's life have impacted you?

Two family members' illnesses instigated my move to the Carolinas. It's changed my perspective and outlook on my own life, as well as how my life intertwines with theirs.

Have you had a life changing event?

Leaving California has been a life changing event.


Ice Cream or Sorbet.

Favorite TV series?

This is Us, Rosewood, Empire.

What is something people would be surprised to learn about you?

I lost 80lbs 5 years ago and have kept most of it off.

If money wasn't an issue, what would you do with your time each day?

I would continue to travel the world. I'd take my nieces and nephew, so they could see the world with me. I think it's important for our young people to know there is a big world out there and that they can then make their own choices.



  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Contact us
Be featured or nominate someone!
Mai Lis Bahr Mackey Info picture.jpg
bottom of page