Copyright © 2016-2020 People of Charlotte CLT. The content on these pages, including text and images, are the sole property of the authors, contributors, and photographers; content may not be used or reproduced in any manner without consent. All Rights Reserved.

  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Meet Tiara Parker of Belmont, NC



Where are you from?

Jacksonville, NC

What was your upbringing like?

I grew up in a southern town where it's absolutely normal to say “Hay Y'all!”

Where do you currently reside?

Belmont, NC

How long have you been in the Carolinas?

Born and raised here.

Family stats?

I am surrounded by fellas here and I loooove it. I have two boys Arden (3), Kyze (6), and my best friend of 11 years, William. Hoping to add a furry friend to our family this year!

What is your education or training background?

I attended Coastal Carolina Community College for Cosmetology. I then began specializing in kids haircuts in 2007.

What is your occupation?

Kids mobile salon owner and stylist. I come to your home, making it easier to get your children's haircut. I am also available for birthday parties. Girls love having a makeover on their special day! Check out If the Crown Fits!


What are your hobbies? Are your hobbies a side business?

Anything arts and crafts can be considered a hobby for me. My future plan is to own another business that allows me to display that!

What are you passionate about? What motivates you?

I am passionate about God, my family….then hair! I am easily motivated by doing something someone else said I cannot do. Another thing that drives me is being able to check goals off my bucket list.

What do you love about the Carolinas?

I love that North Carolina is the perfect medium. Not too northern, not too southern. Living near Charlotte has been amazing! There's so much for the kids to do, but also lots of fun for the adults as well. Our town Belmont is beautiful! We have amazing schools and the downtown is full of tiny mom and pop shops and lots of great food.

Where do you vacation? Favorite spot in the Carolinas to visit?

Vacation? What's that? Lol I plan to get my boys to a few places this year. We usually choose Topsail beach in the summer since it's close to where I was raised.

What are your proudest accomplishments?

My boys are my most proudest accomplishment! They're amazing and will be great at everything they do. Raising respectful children is not easy, I am blessed to have the two I have.

I am also pretty proud of my first year as a business owner! November 2015 was my one year anniversary and in that time I won two awards. One through Charlotte Smarty Pants for “best kids hair salon” and another through Macaroni Kid South Charlotte- the Gold Daisy Award for “best kids salon”. Owning a business is definitely challenging but when you are made aware that you are doing great at it, it becomes worth all the blood, sweat, and tears.

What outdoor activities do you participate in and where?

I am not really the outdoor type but I am definitely a die hard soccer mom! William coaches two age groups at Cramerton Parks and Recreation. We have been doing sports with them almost three years now. Cramerton, NC is an adorable small town near Belmont.

What struggles have you faced in your life?

I wouldn't say I struggled until recently at ages 28-30. Learning about myself has been an amazing journey. Some highs and lows but nothing compares to life when you are in tune with yourself. Not to say you don't need others, but there's certainly some value to knowing YOU!

What Was The Most Important Thing You’ve Done So Far?

Love MYSELF. Hands down!!

Where do you see yourself retiring?

Somewhere private, secluded, with warm nights…or maybe just Belmont NC. We will see, I love it here!

What events in your life or family's life have impacted you?

Life in general has impacted me. I remember finding out I have a son with asthma…another with a heart murmur…both love soccer and will play sports. I learned a huge mommy lesson by allowing my boys to be boys and literally live.

Being a mommy is hard, finding that balance between entrepreneur and mom is even harder….as of late, this has had a major impact on everything I am.

Have you had a life changing event in your life?

Yes, tons! My most recent one would be transitioning from simply a stylist to a business owner. What a roller coaster!! A fun….happy…exciting…scary one haha!

If money wasn't an issue, what would you do with your time each day?

This is going to sound bad: I'd love to take advantage of my location- I would eat at restaurants all day. Every week would be restaurant week lol. Charlotte and its surrounding areas has a variety of foods! I'd love to try them all.

Tiara Parker

Owner, Stylist, Crafty Mom


#Entrepreneur #Belmont #Mom #Salon #Stylist

  • app-icon2
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Contact us
Be featured or nominate someone!
IMG_8988.JPG
@PeopleofCLT
#peopleofCLT
top20questions-sq.png